Many companies who sell goods or services employ full-time salespeople who work from the office or store, making calls and selling the company’s products or services. As an incentive, many companies offer bonuses and commissions for inside salespeople. However, most inside sales persons should be paid overtime for any hours worked over 40 in a week.
There is an inside sales exception to overtime requirements under Connecticut law, but it is very narrow and only applies to some positions. Unfortunately, many employers misapply this exemption and wrongly deprive inside salespeople of overtime pay.
Connecticut Lawyer for Inside Salespeople
If you are an inside salesperson in Connecticut who does not earn time-and-a-half for working more than 40 hours per week, there is a good chance that your employer is breaking the law, and might owe you significant back pay. At Hayber, McKenna & Dinsmore, LLC we represent inside salespeople who should be earning overtime pay and help them win back pay they are owed.
Fill out our online form today so that we can review the details of your case. Remember, it is illegal for an employer to retaliate against a worker who complains about unfair pay practices. We represent inside salespeople throughout Connecticut, including New Haven, Milford, Danbury, Stamford, Bridgeport, Norwalk, and Waterbury. We are based in Hartford.
Connecticut Requirements for Inside Sales Exception
Federal and state law requires that all employees be paid a minimum wage for all hours worked and be paid time-and-a-half their normal rate for any hours they work over 40 per week. However, there are exemptions provided in the law that apply to some workers. The exemptions are to be read narrowly.
To qualify for the inside sales exemption in Connecticut an employer must prove as to its employee that:
- Their sole duty is selling a product or service;
- Their total weekly compensation is more than twice the minimum wage (the minimum wage is currently $9.60 per hour in Connecticut and will rise to $10.10 by 2017);
- They receive more than half of his or her pay from commissions; and
- They do not work more than 54 hours per week.
The employee must meet all these requirements in order to be denied overtime. If even one of these things is not true, then he or she must be paid overtime. For example, if you work more than 54 hours per week, then you are entitled to overtime. If you have duties other than sales (such as management) then you are owed overtime. If your total pay does not come to at least twice the minimum wage, then you are owed overtime.
If you are a nonexempt inside salesperson who has not been paid overtime, you are owed backpay for all the hours over 40 you worked during the last two years.
Hayber, McKenna & Dinsmore | Hartford Attorney Representing Inside Salespeople on Wage and Hour Claims
If you are an inside salesperson in Connecticut and have been mislabeled as an exempt employee, you may be missing out on significant overtime pay. At Hayber, McKenna & Dinsmore, we help Connecticut workers obtain the wages they’ve earned.
Fill out our online form today so we can review the details of your case.