CAN MY EMPLOYER NOT PAY ME?
This is an easy one. No. Your employer must pay you for all compensation (meaning hourly wages, salary, bonuses, commissions, etc…) that you earned. I have heard in this economy that many people are not being paid and are being told by their employer that they’ll be paid in the future.
Connecticut law requires that all wages be paid weekly (bi-weekly only if permission is obtained from the Department of Labor) within eight (8) days of the end of the pay period. C.G.S. Section 31-71b. It is a crime to not pay wages, punishable by fines of between $2,000 and $5,000 and imprisonment of not more than five (5) years. The Department of Labor will refer an employer who fails to pay wages to the State’s Attorney for prosecution.
Any employee who is not paid wages due may complete a Statement of Claim for Wages and file it with the Connecticut Department of Labor. Lawsuits for unpaid wages must be brought within two years.