No. Connecticut law forbids employers from requesting or requiring employees to submit to or take polygraph examinations as a condition of obtaining employment or of continuing employment. Further, an employer in Connecticut cannot dismiss or discipline in any manner an employee for failing, refusing or declining to submit to or take a polygraph examination.
If an employer violates Connecticut law by requiring an employee to undergo a lie detector test, it will be fined between $250 and $1,000 dollars for each violation. Moreover, if an employer discharges an employee for failing to submit to a lie detector test, the employee may be able to bring a wrongful discharge lawsuit.