Connecticut has a very strict rule for overtime pay for inside sales people. It requires that their sole responsibility by sales, that they make at least twice the minimum wage, that more than ½ their compensation be commissions and that they don’t work more than 54 hours per week.
If these rules aren’t met, inside sales people are entitled to time and a half when they work more than 40 hours. Also, the overtime pay has to be 1 ½ times their regular rate, which includes the commissions. As can imagine, this rule is hard to follow. The federal rule is easier and many employers make the mistake of believing that the federal rule controls. In fact, states like Connecticut are allowed to have more employee friendly laws like this.