In June of 2019, the Connecticut Paid Family and Medical Leave Act (PFMLA) was signed into law. It is one of the most comprehensive state-based paid leave programs in the entire country. Starting on January 1st, 2022, the PFMLA will officially take effect in Connecticut. It is crucial that all employees understand their rights and responsibilities under the statute. In this blog post, our Connecticut wage and hour attorneys explain the key things to know about our state’s new paid leave law.
Three Things Employees Should Know About the Paid Family and Medical Leave Act (PFMLA)
- PFMLA Provides Income Replacement to Eligible Workers
Connecticut’s PFMLA exists to allow qualified workers to take paid time off from their job. As a general matter, paid leave is available for workers who are qualified to take time off under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), the Connecticut Family and Medical Leave Act (CT FMLA), or the Connecticut Family Violence Leave Act.
- Eligibility Under Connecticut’s Paid Leave Program
The PFMLA provides relatively broad coverage to workers. Under the state statute, all employers with one or more total workers are covered by the law—meaning they are required to comply. Any individual employee who satisfies the minimum earned-wage threshold is eligible to make a claim for benefits under the program. As of 2022, you must have made at least $2,325 in wages in one of the five most recent quarters to apply for benefits.
- Duration of Benefits Will Vary—Maximum of 12 Weeks for Most Employees
You may be wondering what type of paid leave benefits are available under Connecticut law. For eligible employees, the duration of their benefits will vary based on the circumstances. Starting January 1st, 2022, covered employees can take a maximum of 12 weeks of paid leave benefits. For pregnant workers who suffered a medical complication, an additional two weeks of paid leave may be available under state law.
- Amount of Paid Leave Based on Income
Connecticut’s paid leave benefits are meant to serve as a wage replacement for workers who need to take time off to deal with a qualifying family or medical emergency. For the majority of employees in the state—all workers whose wages are less than 40 times the Connecticut minimum wages—paid leave benefits will make up 95 percent of their pre-emergency average weekly wages. For higher wage workers, paid leave will make a somewhat lower share of the pre-emergency income.
Set Up a Fully Confidential Consultation With a Wage and Hour Lawyer in Connecticut
At Hayber, McKenna & Dinsmore, LLC, our Connecticut wage and hour attorneys have the professional experience and legal expertise that you can count on. If you have any specific questions about the Connecticut PFMLA or if you believe that your rights were violated under the new statute, we are here to help. Get in touch with us by phone or send us a direct message to schedule your confidential case evaluation. We handle wage and hour claims throughout Connecticut.